Awarding Body:CTECCourse Duration:1/2 Years

Minimum Entry Requirements

5 GCSEs at grade A* - C, including Maths and English.

Course Content

You will study the Cambridge Technical Certificate in L6 followed by the Extended Certificate in U6 (equivalent to one A level). These 2 certificates are qualifications in their own right.

The Cambridge Technical Certificatecomprises of 3 mandatory units:

• Positive relationships in Health and Social Care,
• Equality, diversity and Rights in Health and Social Care
• Health, Safety and Security in Health and Social Care.

The Cambridge Technical Extended Certificatecomprises of the 3 units listedabove and the following:

• Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care
• Nutrition for Health
• Supporting People with Mental health conditions

Methods of Teaching

Three of the six units are examined so you will have class lessons to study the unit content but they will be backed up with practical elements and some opportunities to visit care settings to enable you to relate theory to practice. The other three units are coursework based enabling you to, with teacher guidance, develop your research skills and produce extended pieces of writing based on various Health and Social Care issues defined within the unit specifications. You will develop a range of transferable skills such as communication skills, planning and organisational skills. Throughout the course you will develop an understanding of health and social care within different environments and settings.

Methods and Patterns of Assessment

Three units will be examined and externally marked. The other three coursework units will be internally marked. All units are awarded distinction, merit or pass. An external moderator will confirm the grades. Successful achievement of each unit will be combined leading to a final grade for the whole qualification which carry UCAS points.

Career Progression

The CTEC certificates in Health and Social Care are recognised by universities so, in combination with 2 other A level subjects, will enable you to apply to study degrees in nursing, midwifery, radiology, occupational therapy, paramedic science, social work and primary school teaching to name a few. The qualification is also valuable as a route into higher apprenticeships or direct employment.

Apply Online