Awarding Body:EdexcelCourse Duration:2 Years

Minimum Entry Requirements

At least 5 GCSEs at grades A*- C, including Maths and English.

2 Year courses:

These courses will be offered over a 2 year period:

Extended Certificate (1 A Level Equiv.), Diploma (2 A Level Equiv.)

1 Year course:

Extended Certificate (1 A Level Equiv.) progressing to Diploma in year 2

Course Content

This qualification is designed to support learners who are interested in learning about the computing & IT sector alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in the computing sector. It is designed to be taken as part of a programme of study that includes other appropriate BTEC Nationals or A Levels.

Diploma in Computing:

This qualification is designed to support students who want a strong core study of computer science to enable progression to roles in the computing industry or progression to higher education with a focus on the computing sector.

In your first year you will study four core units:

  • Unit 1: Principles of Computer Science (external assessment)**
  • Unit 3: Planning and Management of Computing Projects(external assessment**
  • Unit 5: Building Computer Systems*
  • Unit 6: IT Systems Security*

In your second year you will study six units:

  • Unit 22: Systems Analysis and Design*
  • Unit 24: Software Development*
  • Unit 15: Website Development
  • Unit 17: Mobile Apps Development
  • Unit 18: Relational Database Development
  • Unit 10: Human Computer Interaction

Note: *denotes mandatory units, **denotes double weighted units

Methods of Teaching

The BTEC Nationals in Computing and IT are an advanced level vocational qualification which involves the theoretical and practical study of both computer hardware and software related topics. The course provides specialist knowledge, transferable skills and hands on practical experience in core topics within the Computing and IT sector. The course has a unit based structure and you will be able to apply the knowledge you gain over a mixture of exams and project-based assessments. The course content is equally suited to both male and female students due to its diverse programme of study.

Methods and Patterns of Assessment

The Extended Certificate, equivalent in size to one A Level which consists of 4 units of which 2 units are externally assessed by the examination board and 2 units are assessed internally at the college via coursework. The course is made up of Mandatory content (58%) which is internally assessed and (42%) External assessment.

The Diploma, equivalent in size to two A Levels which consists of 10 units of which 6 are mandatory and 2 are external. The course is made up of Mandatory content (67%) which is internally assessed and (33%) Externally asssessed units.

Financial Implications

The course is predominately assessed via the College Intranet and Moodle. There may be some costs for printing but this will be minimal. Course booklets can be purchased through the intranet bookshop. There are two core books published as course companions which students are advised to purchase. The College has a Student Support Fund for those students who have difficulty meeting these costs.

There are likely to be trips and visits to industry which may incur some expense but we will endeavour to cover costs where possible.

Career Progression

The BTEC Nationals in Computing & IT are recognised by both higher education establishments and industry. The courses are suitable for students who have a keen interest in following a career in the wide field of IT and Computing and who wish to go directly into employment after completing the qualification as well as those who wish to embark on a degree course at university.

When taken alongside other Level 3 qualifications such as A Levels, these qualifications provide an opportunity to progress to a degree in a computing descipline or a degree where computing-related skills and knowledge may be advantageous, such as business studies.

These qualifications carry UCAS points and are recognised by higher education providers as meeting admission requirements to many relevant courses.

Apply Online